Trying to get the ball rolling

The youth pastor at my church tells a story of when he was helping one of his students find time to read the Bible. The challenge was to find time each day to read for anywhere between 5 minutes and 15 minutes a day.  She argued that she was too busy and couldn’t really find the time.  He sat down with her and made a schedule of her week with any activity she was doing.  This included time for sleeping, meals, school, any extra activity, even about a 2 hour nap each day, and they still found they had extra time each day that was unaccounted for.  Yet she was too busy.

My point here isn’t that everyone has time to read scripture (although, I’m sure they do). Its more that we feel our lives are so busy and packed full of stuff, we default to the excuse of “I’m too busy” to keep ourselves to do anything. In checking up on my pen pal websites that I’ve started, I sent out several messages to new people in attempt to start writing.  My opening literary salvoes were lengthy enough to be reads of good content.  Not too much where you feel you have to read a book, but not just a one sentence comment pleading for a response.  Still, no takers.  Now, I know, I don’t know these people or what they do in their lives, but really, a response doesn’t have to take more than 5 to 15 minutes of time to do.  I find it interesting that in a location whose sole purpose is to be a connecting point for those who wish to open correspondence and contact with others through the use of messaging and email, its really hard to start said communication.

Maybe I’m reading too much into it. We will see how things go over the next few weeks.

Leave a Reply

