Of the Fates that Await Me

Of the fates that await me

I can stomach all of them but one

To stare at my visage in a mirror

And find that I recognize no one

That I am no longer myself

With no idea where I am

Of how I came to find myself here

And what’s worse, not give a damn

 

To feel myself slipping away

One day here and then gone the next

To know I’m losing my faculties

And hope that no one suspects

For who am I if not myself?

My ideas, my thoughts, and my dreams

My body is still here buy my mind is gone

Is it really as frightening as it seems?

 

I know my knees will fail me

My back will no longer support

My eyes may go all together

But losing my mind I dread the worst

For if though my body goes

In my mind I’ll still be me

I’ll stay sharp, I’ll observe, I’ll understand

My creativity will keep me free

 

But if I no longer have my wits about me

I will no longer be there

My physical self is not who I am

When I’m dead I will no longer care

To be true my greatest fear

Is losing my most prized possession

As I compose these words, I sit here now

Fear motivating my true confession

 

I look at those who go before

And I pray Dear God don’t let that be me

Take my body first before my true self

But as with fate, we will just wait and see

5 Comments Add yours

  1. This is wonderful. We’re all coming to terms with a close family members brain cancer mets diagnosis this week. This is our fear – that this gets her first.

    Like

    1. Truly something I don’t wish on anyone. I truly hope the best comes out with your family.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. sorry, I didn’t want to detract fro your great poem. I really liked it 🙂

        Like

  2. Not at all. I’ve found that in some way or another most people have a connection to this piece. It looks like you do as well. I take it as a compliment.

    Like

Leave a Reply

