The Me Underneath

I am distracted

Needs boil to the surface

My mind wanders

Imagination merges with the real

I lose focus

The me underneath stirs

Hibernating no longer

Never really gone

Still with a voice

He hijacks my mind

In honesty, I miss him

That’s why he says around

Never evil enough to just die

A ghost or spectre that lives

He becomes me

My weakness he knows

Scars he shows

He loves to see me squirm

I almost sit back and rest for the day

Let him drive for a while

It would be easier

Soon he will sleep again

Don’t know when or for how long

I will be me again

Still with him there

The me underneath

Leave a Reply

