Yep, I’m Writing for Camp NaNoWriMo

April brings with it spring, rain showers, and Camp NaNoWriMo.

 

Last November I threw my hat in for NaNoWriMo for the first time and came out a winner. I’ve been working on the manuscript since then and thanks to some great feedback from some beta readers, it’s time to compile my notes and do a rewrite.  What better place to hit the ground running and tackle this bad boy than a great supportive community and helpful goal setting that comes from the program?

 

I’ve set for myself a goal of 40 hours amidst an already busy month, but I think it’s a very attainable goal. There are two big things that are coming with this rewrite.  One, I’m dropping one of my main storylines.  I had two concurrent storylines that mashed up at the end and it looks like the storylines as a whole just don’t flow well together.  So, I’m minimizing one into a different version in a flashback, and then buffing the other one up to become the main story.  Second, I’m changing my point of view.  I began writing the book in first person with different viewpoints.  It wasn’t bad necessarily, but the suggestion to shift to third person may help with the flow of the words on the page and fix verb tense issues.

 

The cutting of the second storyline and the viewpoint change begs the whole thing to be rewritten. Even though it is a fair amount of work for me, it is all towards the betterment of the story.  I need to knock out roughly ten hours a week in writing to hit my goal and I plan to start on some of that today.  Let’s see how far we get in the actual writing of the story.  I’d love to be able to finish the book at the end of the month, but I don’t want to shortchange the material just for the sake of hitting a date.

 

Leave a Reply

